New Blog (you made me do it)

I’m trying to remember the last time I really sat down and wrote, and to my own dismay, I cannot remember. So should the musings of my somewhat damaged being peak your interest, please be critically kind. It’s been a while since I have put thought to paper, and the end result may be incoherent ramblings of a soul trying to find it’s way back to a sense of creative talent that may elude me for all of eternity.

In the words of Kahlil Gibran, who is truly much wiser than I…

‘You talk when you cease to be at peace with your thoughts;

And when you can no longer dwell in the solitude of your heart you live in your lips, and sound is a diversion and a pastime.

And in much of your talking, thinking is half murdered.

For thought is a bird of space, that in a cage of words may indeed unfold its wings, but cannot fly.

And there are those who talk, and without knowledge or forethought reveal a truth which they themselves do not understand.’

Those of you who have spent even a fraction of time in my presence will understand the resonance this quote has with the core of my being. I talk. A lot. It is no secret, and as much as it is a flaw, it is a undeniable fact I cannot escape.

So why add to the already voluminous meanderings of my restless tongue? The answer lies somewhere between truth and fiction. In truth, writing gives me a chance to redeem some meaning in the white noise, and in fiction, writing gives me the chance to create a better version of myself, the me I dream I could be.

Therefore, I will greet you with the simple facts of my life and I will not purport to be more eloquent in speech than I am in life. Yet, through revealing my very average life to one and all, I am hopeful that I will find the greatness in myself that will make my own existence have meaning and worth.

My name  is not exactly plain, but not exactly extraordinary. My childhood was blessed, but not without it’s own burdens. I am 25, which is not old, but I am no longer young in life. My style is classic, but not without it’s own unique twists. My past is interesting, but no book will even be written on the tales I have to tell. I am a candidate attorney, which is fulfilling, but not unexpected. I dream the dreams of a million others, yet my dreams are coloured in shades not yet known to the human psyche. I am therefore, like so many other people, uniquely normal.

I think the point is that even if this never reaches an understanding ear, it still comes from my heart, and through that, I will teach my mind the ways of my own soul and come to a better understanding of who I am, and by understanding who I am, I open myself to the possibility of change and of growth. If anything, that has got to be worth something.

