kə myóoni káysh’n

If you can’t get a hold of me by calling my mobile, you could text me, leave me a voicemail or call my work number – either my direct or our general line, alternatively, you can fax me. Failing that you can email me on my work or private account. You could also IM me on Skype or Windows live. If that doesn’t get my attention Facebook or Twitter will. You can also find me right here on my blog, or pop by wherever I am checked in on Foursquare. Failing all that, you can send me some snail mail. I have even been known to still make a guest appearance on mxit, although this is rarely the fashion anymore.

Sound familiar? I’m sure this reads like a biography of your own social networking status. Many of you have even more ways to communicate…

So why, when we’re all so connected, are there so many feeling like lost souls out there? Is it that social networking has made us inept at having real human connection? Or have we simply become a selfish international nation? Think about it. You update your status with what you’re going through after all. Your comments are generally made and particular to your own being. Have we lost the ability to read between the lines and see what is really going on with each other, or have our lives simply become so busy that it‘s the only way in which to nurture relationships?

Perhaps the heart of the matter is that we no longer spend time truly being alone, and so we have created a culture craving constant contact. We flaunt ourselves openly and candidly. No longer do we hold anything private or sacred. With the innocent click of a button our most secret selves is revealed for all the world to see. You no longer have to meet someone to really know them. Have we become so desperately disconnected that we feel the need to put it all out there for anyone and everyone to listen in the hopes that someone, somewhere, will recognise our voice and respond?

I’m not oblivious to the irony of it all. I am part of this network of – let’s face it – freaks who take ten minutes to get settled in anywhere due to checking in and updating. I have sat through evenings where the fate of the free world is being vigorously debated between friends congregated in silence over the world wide web. I have flirted without batting an eyelid whilst standing right next to the object of my affection. I am part of this network, and I cannot deny it – I love it as much as the next person.

Perhaps then, the truth is not that we are all starved for attention and unable to shut up, but that we have grown up in a world where there is never a moment of peace, and this is our way of obtaining some form of silence without being totally disconnected and distanced from the world.

