A mistake does not mean failure

My past is colourful. It’s a nice euphemism that, isn’t it? Colourful. Like it’s a fucking rainbow with puppy dogs and lollipops and wishes that come true, but of course it never is. It means there are some sordid and sorry details about my life that I’d rather not discuss or relive or that I wish never happened. Mistakes. The shadows that haunt our wounded minds.

What I have been trying to do lately, however, is create a better quality of life for myself. This decision and the connected changes I am working on have very little to do with anyone else. This is a first for me, since I’m self sacrificing to the point where I sometimes don’t remember what makes ME happy, only what I do to make others happy. It’s easy to admit you have made mistakes. Unfortunately, it is equally as easy to allow the feelings associated with those mistakes to race through your mind like a wild fire until they ignite a blaze of fury we simple people like to call “issues“. These then jump the fence into your real life, affecting you in a very real way. The act of making a mistake is not the mistake you are making. What causes baggage, emotional and otherwise, is how you choose to deal with the mistakes you have made.

I have spent some time lately thinking about what I want out of life and how I am going about getting it. My theory is that I should accept that I make mistakes, but love who I am anyway.

I am now trying to live by the following little mottos every day:

1. You have to let go of your past.

2. Don’t be so hard on yourself. You are doing ok.

3. Be realistic about who you are and what you can achieve.

4. Be honest. Most importantly, be honest with yourself.

5. In the greater scheme of things, your issues are not as big or as serious as you think they are. Don’t get hung up on them.

I could spend quite a lot of time explaining to you why each little motto makes me feel more empowered, or what my interpretation is thereof, but what does it matter to you in your life? What are the things that help you? How do you deal with your issues?

If you really think about it, dealing with your issues is the exact opposite of making a mistake. It doesn’t matter much how you choose to go about sorting out your issues, as long as you do it.

