I’m sorry

I am sorry.

Probably one of the hardest short sentences in the English language. We all know when it is due, but somehow the concept eludes us. We all want to be forgiven, but we are too quick to judge and too slow to offer our apologies.

Some things can fall in between the cracks, I get that, but sometimes you have to gauge what is important to someone else, realise that the world revolves around more than your own ego.

I am guilty of this too, as much as the next person. I am stubborn and relentless and harsh. Sometimes even unforgiving. It is not a quality I like owning up to, but it is the truth, and in a world where fact gets invariably distorted by what feels good, I am guilty of same sinful pleasures.

Yet sometimes we have to own up. Step up and be the person we know we are hiding from. For in embracing who we are, we are one step closer to making less apologies. Truth is truth. You can spin it any way you want to, but that doesn’t make it less true.

